The Vine and the Branches

“As I thought of the Vine and the branches, what light the blessed Spirit poured direct into my soul! … I saw not only that Jesus will never leave me, but that I am a member of His body, of His flesh and of His bones … I am no longer anxious about anything, as I realize this; for … in the easiest position He must give me His grace, and in the most difficult position His grace is sufficient.  It little matters to my servant whether I send him to buy a few [dollars] worth of things, or the most expensive articles.  In either case he looks to me for the money and brings his purchases.  So, if God should place me in serious perplexity, must He not give me much guidance; in positions of great difficulty, much grace; in circumstances of great pressure and trial, must strength?  No fear that His resources will prove unequal to the emergency!  And His resources are mine, for He is mine, and is with me and dwells in me.”  Dr. and Mrs. Howard Taylor, Hudson Taylor’s Spiritual Secret (Chicago, IL: Moody Bible Institute, 1989), 161-63.

Leave a Reply

